First Norman McBride Scholarship Awarded

HAY RIVER, Northwest Territories (December 12, 2023) The Northwest Territories Power Corporation (NTPC) is pleased to announce the recipient of the first annual Norman McBride Scholarship. Anais Aubrey-Smith from Fort Smith, NT has been awarded the $2000 McBride Scholarship, which was established in 2022 to acknowledge the dedication, contribution and loyalty of long-term NTPC employee, Norman McBride.

Anais was also awarded a $1,000 bursary as part of NTPC’s Student Bursary Program. A bursary of $1,000 is available to one student in every community the Corporation services or has a presence. The bursary program is open to all current post-secondary students who attended high school in the Northwest Territories.

A total of six bursaries were awarded in 2023 to students from Inuvik, Norman Wells, Deline, Yellowknife, Hay River and Fort Smith. The bursary winners are enrolled in programs such as Business Administration, Engineering and Industrial Heavy Equipment Technology.

In addition to the regular criteria to qualify for NTPC’s Bursary Program, the criteria for the Norman McBride Scholarship are as follows:

  1. Community involvement: Evidence of volunteer work, extracurricular activities, or leadership roles in school or community organizations within the NWT. This could include participation in sports teams, clubs, or service organizations.
  2. Personal statement: Applicants are required to submit an essay or personal statement that demonstrates their motivation, goals, and commitment to their community and / or the NWT.
  3. Reference letter: Applicants are required to submit a letter of reference from someone who can attest to the applicant’s efforts in supporting their community and reasons why they should be considered for this scholarship.

Applications for the 2024 bursaries and McBride Scholarship will be available next fall.

NTPC is a wholly owned subsidiary of NT Hydro, which in turn is 100 percent owned by the Government of the Northwest Territories.




Quote (s):

“I am honoured to be this year’s NTPC recipient of the McBride Scholarship. In the spirit of exemplifying the virtues of Norman McBride, I will strive to uphold the values of ‘Commitment’, ‘Contribution’, ‘Determination’, and ‘Strong Work Ethic’ within my engineering studies at McGill University. I encourage youth from small communities across the north to dream big, work hard, and know that you can achieve anything you put your mind to. Thank you NTPC for this scholarship and for everything you do for our communities.”

Anais Aubrey-Smith, McBride Scholarship winner

“NTPC is committed to helping students pursue their post-secondary education and developing skills and knowledge that they will hopefully bring back to the NWT following graduation. The McBride Scholarship is a new opportunity to supporting students while acknowledging the long service of Norm McBride.”

Cory Strang, President and CEO, Northwest Territories Power Corporation


Media Contact:

Doug Prendergast

Manager, Communications

Tel:      867-874-5202



Hay River, NWT